“By offering the possibility of exciting and fulfilling musical experiences for each and every girl, we aim to make a significant contribution to their wider, intellectual, creative and spiritual development through diverse, culturally enriching experiences.”
Dominic Hawley, College  Director of Music

College has a long and proud history of music-making. Its former Directors of Music include the composers Herbert Sumsion and John Sanders, and Music has always formed a vital filament running through the day-to-day life of many College girls.

Today, it continues to lie at the very heart of our community. Around 50 specialist and highly qualified staff teach over 1,200 individual lessons and groups each week.

It is our ambition to make the academic and practical aspects of the subject challenging, engaging and relevant, to equip our students with lifelong skills that will enable them to enjoy their studies throughout and beyond their time at College.

We offer a huge range of co-curricular activities. A significant proportion of these, such as the Autumn Concert in Tewkesbury Abbey or the Spring Concert in Cheltenham’s Pittville Pump Room, are designed to celebrate and communicate the great musical heritage of the Western classical tradition; however, girls whose musical passions lie elsewhere will find plenty of further outlets for their creativity in our wide provision. Jazz Band, Gospel Choir, Sax and Guitar lessons as well as the Annual House Music Competition are some examples.

LC Programme

Music is part of the core curriculum in LC1 and LC2, and all girls have the opportunity to continue their music studies in LC3 and beyond.

UC Programme

The OCR specification is followed at GCSE.

SFC Programme

In the Sixth Form, OCR AS and A Level Music or IB are available.


Director of Music: Mr Dominic Hawley BMus (Violin and Viola)

Mr Christopher Keir BA (Head of Academic Music)
Mrs Lucy Adams BA LTCL (Head of Woodwind, Brass and Percussion) (Flute)
Miss Sarah Baldock MA FRCO (College Organist)
Mr Edgar Bailey BMus DipRCM (Head of Strings) (Violin and Viola)
Mr David Jones MMus (Head of Keyboard) (Piano)
Mr David Lloyd BMus
Mr Oliver Parker MMus PGDip (Head of Vocal Studies)
Mr Peter Stacey PPRAM (Violin and Viola)

Visiting Music Teachers

Mrs Fiona Beck BMus MA ARCM LTCL ALCM (Oboe)
Mrs Suzanne Blewett FTCL LTCL LWCMD (Flute)
Mrs Fiona Brown MA FRCO LRAM (Piano and Organ)
Mrs Rebecca Brown BMus (Singing)
Miss Andrea Calladine ARCM ABSM (Singing)
Mr Jeremy Carter DipRAM (Piano)
Miss Di Clark GBSM ABSM PGDip (Flute)
Ms Tessa Frye BSc (Saxophone, Clarinet and Jazz Piano)
Mrs Caroline Gibbons (Clarinet)
Mr Richard Goode ALCM BIG (Guitar)
Mrs Alison Hargreaves BA (Bassoon)
Miss Sarah Harper GRSM ARCM DipRCM (Violoncello)
Mrs Jo Hattersley CTABRSM LRSM (Trumpet and Euphonium)
Mrs Corinne Hepburn MA FRCO LRAM LGSM (Piano and Organ)
Mr Andrew Hopwood GBSM ABSM (Singing)
Mrs Ailsa Howarth BA (Piano)
Mrs Elisabeth Irvine BA MPhil (Singing)
Miss Ariane Jurriaanse DMKC MMus PPRNCM (Piano)
Miss Brigid Kirkland-Wilson BEd MMus ARCM (Violin)
Ms Monica Leiher BMus ARCT (Clarinet)
Mrs Claire Lloyd-Smith GRSM LRAM MTC (Piano)
Mrs Yoko Mathers BMus LGSM (Piano)
Mrs Laura Morris LTCL DipTCL ARCMpg (French Horn)
Miss Rebecca Nash BMus MMus (Piano)
Mr Robert O’Connor BA LTCL (Piano)
Mrs Heather Parker MA CANTAB (Singing)
Miss Claire Piper BMus BSc MA ARCM LRAM (Violin and Viola)
Miss Stella Roberts BMus (Jazz Piano)
Mrs Pam Smith CTABRSM (Drum Kit and Percussion)
Mrs Jacqueline Statham ARCM (Violin)
Mr Josh Tagg BMus (Trombone and Lower Brass)
Mrs Catherine White MMus (Harp)
Mr Marcus Willett OBE BA (Double Bass)