CLC girl awarded Arkwright Engineering Scholarship

Congratulations to Louise Dai (SFC1) who has received an Arkwright Engineering Scholarship.

The Arkwright Scholarships Trust conducts an annual award of prestigious Scholarships to future leaders of the engineering profession. This year, 413 Sixth Form Scholarships were awarded at Ceremonies in London and Edinburgh.

Louise attended the awards ceremony on 27th October 2016, at the IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology), Savoy Place, London. She was awarded the Scholarship by Principal Guest Eddie Alleyn, Chief Executive of Her Majesty’s Government Communications Centre.

Arkwight Louise Dai 2016

The Arkwright Engineering Scholarships act as a beacon to the most talented STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths) students in UK schools and help to ensure that high-potential young people stay engaged in the engineering careers pipeline.

The new Arkwright Engineering Scholars received their awards at Ceremonies supported by the Institution of Engineering and Technology and the Cyber Security Industry, spearheaded by Principal Sponsors GCHQ and supported by Gold Sponsors Thales Cyber and Consulting and HMGCC. This year’s Scholars come from all educational backgrounds across England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, the Channel Islands and a growing number of British Overseas Schools. A record-equalling 29% of the new Scholars were female.

Dr Martin Thomas CEng FIET, Chief Executive of the Arkwright Scholarships Trust said: “I have been hugely impressed by the creativity, technical skills and leadership prowess of the young men and women receiving their Scholarships this year. It is well-documented that the country needs 100,000s of new engineers to take the economy and society forward. But some of these newly-trained people need to also act as outstanding leadership beacons within industry and academia. The Arkwright Engineering Scholarships are the first step on that road to achieving such a vital position within UK engineering. Congratulations to our 413 new Scholars!”